You’re Not Who I Thought You Were

A poem I wrote, thinking about someone who wasn’t who I thought they were. But… I do not know what is true. Is the falsehood, what I thought they were, or is it now that I am trying to convince myself that they aren’t.

Something I still haven’t got my head around.


 

You’re not who I thought you were.
I built a picture of who I thought you were, filled it in with the good times, ignored the bad.

People told me how I was wrong,
I never listened
Never listened.

If I did it would have saved me heartache and pain,
Painful thoughts,
Painful memories,
Painful days, moments.

But you’re not who I thought you were.

You’re nice as a good person is nice, but not who I thought you were.

Are the feelings gone? No.
But I need to keep reminding myself,
You’re not who I thought you were,
Never were.

So everytime my mind builds a person around you.
Need to tell myself,
To differentiate between who you are,
And who I view you to be.

Because in the end, you are you,
But not who I thought you were.

Leave a comment