Wubba Lubba Dub Dub

The pain behind the smile,

Everyone fooled.

People wondering around,

Blundering around,

Living the lie they tell themselves.

I see but wish I did not.

A door that, once open cannot be closed.

A door of hurt and pain.

One that hurts with pain never-ending.

Waiting for the end.

Wubba lubba dub dub,

The way life works, the way it goes.

The way it goes, in existential angst while the world walks blind,

I’m happy blitz.

Sadness is the truth, while bliss is a convenient lie.

No matter what may come,

Adventures, friends, opportunities of all kinds.

Means nothing. In this life of nothing.

Means nothing when faced with the pain of living.

Means nothing when help is an escape,

From the pain,

From living.

From the unavoidable existential reality in which we live,

Unless we live blind to the truth.

Like ignorant robots, capable of nothing more than lying effectively to ourselves.

An age-old question, is a horrible truth better than I blissful lie?

I say the former, to live in truth,

But it hurts,

I’m in great pain, please help me.

Wubba lubba dub dub.
A ‘Rick and Morty’ quote, one of my favourites, a catchphrase, said with enthusiasm until the meaning is learned; “I am in great pain, please help me”. From when I heard the meaning the first time, it spoke to me.

Leave a Reply

